Most of those killed in alcohol-related crashes involving teen drivers are the young drivers themselves and their passengers.

For additional copies of this brochure, contact:

North Carolina Governor's Highway Safety Program 215 East Lane Street Raleigh, North Carolina 27601

> Phone: (919) 733-3083 Fax: (919) 733-0604

http://www.ncdot.gov/programs/GHSP

Cover photo courtesy Leonid Yastremskiy / Dreamstime.com Photos courtesy N.C. Department of Transportation unless otherwise noted.



## Underage Drinking. Adult Consequences.

Too many people still don't understand that alcohol and driving don't mix. Impaired driving is no accident — nor is it a victimless crime.

BOOZE IT

¿ LOSE IT.





North Carolina Department of Transportation Governor's Highway Safety Program According to a 2009 national survey on Drug Use and Health, in North Carolina 14.3 percent of adolescents has consumed alcohol in the past month and 8.9 percent engaged in binge drinking. In 2009, 139 16- to 19-year olds were fatally injured on North Carolina roads. Twenty-four of those fatalities were in alcoholrelated traffic crashes.

39% of 8th graders

58% of 10th graders

72% of 12th graders

in their lifetime

Report they have tried alcohol at least once

What is North Carolina's Zero Tolerance Law?

The Zero Tolerance Law makes it illegal for persons under age 21 to drive after consuming alcohol or drugs. If you are under age 21, it is illegal to:

- Drive while consuming alcohol;
- Drive while any amount of alcohol you previously drank is still in your system; and
- Drive while drugs you previously consumed remain in your system, unless the drugs were lawfully obtained (prescribed to you) and taken as prescribed.

# What happens if you have any detectable concentration of alcohol when stopped?

- Drivers under age 21 who have any detectable alcohol concentration immediately lose their driver license for 30 days, on the spot and a \$100 fee for return of license.
- Any reading above 0.00 on an alcohol screening test is sufficient evidence to convict. Results of screenings can be used in court.
- Odor of alcohol plus refusal to take an alcohol screening test is sufficient evidence to convict.
- Refusal to submit to a chemical analysis will result in an automatic one-year driver license revocation.
- Insurance premiums can increase by 400 percent for 3 years.

#### What happens if you are under age 21 and convicted of driving after consuming alcohol or drugs?

- One-year driver license revocation.
- Limited driving privilege only, if 18, 19 or 20 years old at the time of charge and no prior conviction for this charge. There is \$100 fee to obtain a limited driving privilege.
- Punishment as a Class 2 misdemeanor
- Community service hours and \$250 fee or jail time.
- Court cost of \$190.
- Fine up to \$1,000.

Booze It & Lose It

- Attorney's fees of \$500 to \$1,000.
- Insurance premiums can increase by 400 percent.

### What if you are under age and convicted of drinking alcohol?

- Drinking by a person under age 19 is a Class 1 Misdemeanor, and punishment can include a fine in the discretion of the judge, community service hours and a \$250 fee or jail, plus court costs of \$180.
- Drinking by a person age 19 or 20 is a Class 3 Misdemeanor in which punishment can include a fine of up to \$200 and community service hours and a \$250 fee or jail, plus court costs of \$180.
- Attorney's fees of \$300 to \$800.

#### What happens if you are under age 21 and convicted of purchasing or attempting to purchase alcoholic beverages?

- One-year driver license revocation.
- No limited driving privilege.
- Punishment as a Class 1 misdemeanor.
- Community service hours and a \$250 fee or jail time.
- Court cost of \$180.
- Fine is discretion of the judge.
- Attorney's fees of \$500 to \$1,000.
- Insurance rate increase for three years.

\*All fees are subject to change based on legislation. Visit http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/ for up-to-date law and statute information.



life. Drive sober